London Stroke Strategy

HASU and SU locations

There are eight HASUs and 24 SUs located within the capital:

Use the London Stroke Unit Lookup website to find the local SU for repatriation of patients.


Barnet Hospital Princess Royal University Hospital
Charing Cross Hospital
Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
Queen's Hospital
Croydon University Hospital Royal Free Hospital
Hillingdon Hospital St George's Hospital
Homerton Hospital St Helier Hospital
King's College Hospital St Mary's Hospital
Kingston Hospital St Thomas' Hospital
Newham Hospital The Royal London Hospital
National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery (NHNN) University Hospital Lewisham
North Middlesex Hospital West Middlesex Hospital
Northwick Park Hospital Whipps Cross Hospital

  • Hyper Acute Stroke Units (HASUs) - provide the immediate response to a stroke, where the patient is stabilised and receives primary intervention. The patient's length of stay is up to 72 hours.
  • Stroke Units (SUs) - provide multi-therapy rehabilitation and ongoing medical supervision following a patient's HASU stabilisation. Length of stay varies and will last until the patient is well enough for discharge from an acute inpatient setting.
  • TIA services - provide rapid diagnostic assessment and access to a specialist within 24 hours for high-risk patients and within seven days for low-risk patients.

Share |

New stroke services pathway

London Ambulance Service