London Stroke Strategy

HASU and SU locations

There are eight HASUs and 24 SUs located within the capital:


Charing Cross Hospital
Fulham Palace Road
London W6 8RF
The Royal London Hospital
Whitechapel Road
Whitechapel E1 1BB
King's College Hospital
Denmark Hill
London SE5 9RS
St George's Hospital
Blackshaw Road
Tooting SW17 0QT
Northwick Park Hospital
Watford Road
Harrow HA1 3UJ
Princess Royal University Hospital
Farnborough Common
Kent BR6 8ND
Queen's Hospital
Rom Valley Way
Romford RM7 0AE
University College London Hospital
235 Euston Road
London NW1 2BU

Where are the SUs located?

A list of the 24 dedicated Stroke Units may be found on this page.

  • Hyper Acute Stroke Units (HASUs) - provide the immediate response to a stroke, where the patient is stabilised and receives primary intervention. The patient's length of stay is up to 72 hours.
  • Stroke Units (SUs) - provide multi-therapy rehabilitation and ongoing medical supervision following a patient's HASU stabilisation. Length of stay varies and will last until the patient is well enough for discharge from an acute inpatient setting.
  • TIA services - provide rapid diagnostic assessment and access to a specialist within 24 hours for high-risk patients and within seven days for low-risk patients.

Share |

New stroke services pathway

London Ambulance Service